Meritorious Service Cross

The Meritorious Service Cross (military division) recognizes a military deed or activity that has been performed in an outstandingly professional manner, according to a rare high standard that brings considerable benefit or great honour to the Canadian Forces.

The following were awarded the M.S.C.:

  • LGen (then MGen) SA Beare – 2011: “For transformational leadership and outstanding strategic vision as the DComd Police within the NATO training mission in Afghanistan, Jun 10 to Jul 11”
  • LGen (Ret’d) (then MGen) AB Leslie – 2005 – “For outstanding leadership and professionalism as Comd Task Force Kabul (TF Kabul) and Deputy Comd International Security Assistance Force (ISAF), Afghanistan, Aug 03-Feb 04”
  • Col G.F. Dame – 2011 – “For exceptional performance and outstanding leadership as COS with the UN Stabilization Mission in Haiti, Jul 10 to Jul 11.”
  • Col (then LCol) RK Chamberlain – 2008 – “For outstanding leadership and diplomatic skills as the CO of Kandahar PRT, Joint Task Force Afghanistan, Jan 07 to Feb 08”
  • Col SC Hetherington – 2011 – “For outstanding leadership, superb professionalism and unwavering dedication as the DComd of Joint Task Force Afghanistan, Nov 09 to Sep 10”
  • Col (then LCol) SC Hetherington – 2007 – “For outstanding leadership as commanding officer of the Kandahar Provincial Reconstruction Team (KPRT), Joint Task Force Afghanistan, from Jun 06 to Jan 07
  • Col (Ret’d) BW Macleod – 2005 – “For outstanding professionalism as COS of the UN mission in Haiti, May to Jan 05”
  • CWO ML McDonald – 2006 – “For outstanding professionalism as the Bde Sgt Maj of Task Force Aegis while deployed with Task Force Afghanistan, 2006”
  • CWO JRG Moretti – 2009 – “For outstanding professionalism and dedication as the Regional Command South Sergeant-Major, Joint Task Force Afghanistan, Jan to Nov 08”
« Go Back